Poem #5 – 9th March 2014

Fate

From the window of the coffee shop

I see the college kids

caressing life with careless symmetry.

I  sip a cold cappuccino and wait

for my daughter, who has advanced further

than her father ever did.

Fifty years before, university  beckoned me

with undergraduate euphoria

and the promise of promiscuity.

Trepidation, examination, recrimination.

I remember that slipped, missed chance,

or maybe it was the dance with the slim hipped Miss

that left me examining my priorities?

Leave a Reply

