Lent poem #29

The popular word is that we all now need not five portions of fruit and vegetables each day but seven. Perhaps this is where I’ve been going wrong.

 

I am devoid of vigour

and have felt a numbing sense

of dullness within my limbs.

The aches continue longer

 than they used to.

Wrists and shoulders bear the brunt

of this malaise,  as I grunt

to rise from bed or sofa.

 Spells at the gym

that I once described as weekly

 now conform to a different spelling.

Where has the magic gone?

Leave a Reply

