Just finished Virginia Woolf’s Mrs Dalloway. Phew!

Amazing writing. I think that was the word I was looking for. Hard work though; it felt like I was doing my A Level English Lit all over again. I determined a while ago to read as many classics as possible. The reason is to give me the spur to get on with my own writing, and it seems to have had some effect.  The current novel I am working on – Idle Times of a Failed Buddhist (working title!) has finally got into chapter three today with a plot plan finally taking shape and an end in sight.

My previous novels (self published and available through Amazon) The Intricate Soul (sci-fi) and Empirical Evidence (crime thriller) were the product of the annual NaNoWriMo event, the greatest spur to getting words written (50,000 target during the month of November). But now I have determined to turn something out that was not going to be rushed.

I have to say I am encouraged by the words of established writers as to how they got started. Stephen King’s On Writing is excellent, and I am currently reading his first novel Carrie. Anyhow, enough of the blogging – back to the novel.

Leave a Reply

