I’m a World Cup wimp.

Much as I enjoy the beautiful game, which I played in my youth (many years ago!), I find that my stamina even to watch the opening group games of the current  World Cup Finals is not what it used to be. The greater shame is that my 22 year old daughter is the one who insists that we stay up for the 11:00 p.m. kick offs and not just the one which involved England. Thankfully, 2:00 a.m. start times are too much even for her.  Although there have been already some exciting moments, I am almost at the point of being ‘footballed-out’ even before the knockout stages. And of course interest will wane even further, as it has at previous tournaments, if England fail to reach the later stages.

Notwithstanding the lack of a full night’s sleep, I have managed a trip to the gym this morning (and, yes, I did do a workout!). If nothing else the World Cup has given me the motivation to keep myself more alert and awake, which will hopefully assist in my applying myself to writing. Come On England!

Leave a Reply

