A Novel Undertaking

With the onset of shorter daylight hours there should be less temptation for me to venture outside enjoying sunshine and fresh air rather than sitting at the keyboard and writing something. There again I have always needed that extra push to get on with anything, be it at school or at work. I’m easily distracted. I recall one of my primary school teachers telling my mother that I was a bit of a daydreamer. I like to think it was the early workings of a creative mind. Then again…

In recent years that ‘extra push’ and motivation has been forthcoming through my signing up to NaNoWriMo – the annual November novel writing month in which participants are challenged to write a novel of 50,000 words or more between the 1st and 30th of November (of the same year!). I succeeded in this task in 2010, 2011 and 2012 and took a break last year. From this I managed to produce two self-published novels: The Intricate Soul (sci-fi) and Empirical Evidence (crime), both of which are available on Amazon/Kindle.

The euphoria of reaching the 50,000 word target within the deadline was matched by the first time I saw the ISBN number allocated to my first novel. Something I would never have achieved without the spur of NaNoWriMo. So, having taken a break last year, I am looking forward to taking up the challenge once more. Wish me luck.
Writer

Leave a Reply

