Almost there but not quite. Just resting. #NaNoWriMo

Eight days to go and whereas I thought I was well on target to reach the 50,000 words by the deadline only a few days ago, I find I have hit a second wall.  According to the NaNoWriMo pundits there is only one wall which is just about half way.  I suppose the view is that it is all downhill after that. That would be the inspiring image if it were not for the ‘helpful’ graph on the website which shows the word progress on a daily basis and which is UPHILL all the way to the finish.  I have not actually stopped my writing, and I have managed (just!) to keep to the daily word target of 1,667, but I have this horrible feeling that the standard and quality of the writing in terms of plot progression and action is faltering, and that an awful lot of padding might be tumbling from the keyboard.

But you must not look back or read over what has gone until the very end. That way lies madness. Plenty of time for proofing, editing, scrapping (?) later. Notwithstanding everything else, the discipline and exercise of writing mostly coherent sentences has got to have had a good effect. Hasn’t it?

Leave a Reply

