Production Lines

I take a daily walk past a farm field which changes with the seasons and yields a different crop year after year. I had thought it was taking a well earned rest until I noticed green shoots of new growth appear recently. As each day passes I try to guess what it is that might be growing.

Hot Summer Day 011

The fallow field has sprouted
Green shoots
Springing a surprise
For this passer-by.

Formerly, it touted
Turnips and other roots.
This time I’d surmise
Lettuce. Don’t know why.

I’ve never doubted
That one day fruits
May emerge. A prize
Product for this guy.

Leave a Reply

