My Triple Word Challenge

Another three-word challenge presented me with a tricky trio:  Dock, Flesh and Hybrid. For this one I thought I would try to come up with a piece of dialogue.

 

Trial and Error

 

Characters:

His Honour Judge Gerald Barton

Simon Templeton-Peters Q.C. – Barrister

 

Scene: Crown Court No. 1. The barrister, Simon Templeton-Peters, is standing in the dock, having been accused and found guilty of attempting to pervert the course of justice. He is a Human Rights lawyer and recently defended union workers who were in dispute over the imposition of unrealistic working hours for junior doctors. The Crown Prosecution Service determined that he had contrived to employ a false witness in bringing allegations of assault against the police during the day of strike action.

 

Judge:         Mr Templeton-Peters, I have to say that I am both astonished and dismayed to find someone such as yourself standing before me in the dock. You have been found guilty of attempting to pervert the course of justice. Do you have anything to say before I pass sentence?

ST-P:          I do, your honour. And with your permission I should like to address everyone present.

Judge:         Yes, I was afraid you might say that. Get on with it then and try to be brief.

ST-P:          As a member of the bar for the last twelve years, I have to say with more than a modicum of regret, that I find the current system of justice, with all due respect to your honour, to be both vacuous and arcane. A system which by design is to offer those accused a decision ex aequo et bono, to be considered outside of the normal legal constraints, has fallen into a terminal decay. I feel that in light of my former encounters in matters such as this, a conspiracy has determined that I be found guilty, in spite of a non liquet aspect in this case. In short, the powers that be have sought to have their pound of flesh, in exacting what I can only describe as revenge.

Judge:         You have always had a very high opinion of yourself Mr Templeton-Peters, and I have admired those occasions in my courts when you have demonstrated robust defence of your clients. However, I cannot concede to your view that this has been a matter of non liquet. To my mind the proof of guilt was clear. What has never been clear to me, however, has been your Jekyll and Hyde character of a highly competent lawyer and neo-activist.

ST-P:          I imagine you could call me a hybrid.

Judge:         No, Mr Templeton-Peters, I would call you guilty and sentence you to prison for a period of three months. Take him down.

Leave a Reply

