No, No, NaNo

Having successfully plunged into the NaNoWriMo challenge over the last few years, I have decided to pass on the upcoming 30 day sprint. It’s not that I don’t have the inspiration or the stamina anymore, but more that I want to concentrate my efforts into writing plays.

Despite the previous challenges having spawned a couple of (self-published) novels (Empirical Evidence and, more recently, Shelf Life – still available on Amazon!), I am enjoying drama a lot more. There is also the greater opportunity and satisfaction of watching your written words come to life on stage. Just in the last few weeks, one of my short plays, Sorry, You’re Leaving, was performed as part of a showcase drama evening in support of the local village library, which like many others is under constant threat of closure. So, there was a double satisfaction in that the show was sold out and made much needed funds for the library friends and supporters.

shelf-life-cover-1

All of this does not mean I am turning my back on novel writing. Indeed, I am working on a re-draft of one, The Failed Buddhist, which again came out of a gruelling NaNoWriMo  challenge.  As they say (whoever ‘they’ are), it doesn’t really matter what you are writing – just write on!

Writer

Leave a Reply

